The EISA Awards have been announced and everyone's a winner… except DSLRs

The EISA Awards have been announced and everyone's a winner… except DSLRs
(Image credit: EISA)

The latest European Imaging and Sound Association Awards have been announced, and Sony and Canon have swept the board with 12 accolades between them. However, neither manufacturer managed to nab the prestigious Camera of the Year Award, which rather deservedly went to the Nikon Z6. 

Interestingly, there are no DSLRs featured on the winners list – and Amateur Photographer (an EISA member) even stated that, "One thing you’ll notice this year is that there are no longer any separate awards for DSLR and mirrorless systems. This simply reflects the current state of the market, and in particular the paucity of new DSLRs as mirrorless becomes increasingly dominant."

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Louise Carey

With over a decade of photographic experience, Louise arms Digital Camera World with a wealth of knowledge on photographic technique and know-how – something at which she is so adept that she's delivered workshops for the likes of ITV and Sue Ryder. Louise also brings years of experience as both a web and print journalist, having served as features editor for Practical Photography magazine and contributing photography tutorials and camera analysis to titles including Digital Camera Magazine and  Digital Photographer. Louise currently shoots with the Fujifilm X-T200 and the Nikon D800, capturing self-portraits and still life images, and is DCW's ecommerce editor, meaning that she knows good camera, lens and laptop deals when she sees them.