Free Flickr user? Then your photos may be about to get deleted

null

Flickr has made the biggest change yet to its service and it's set to hit free users where it hurts. 

Currently, on the front page of the site, there is a lovely bit of blurb: "Flickr at its best is a place to connect, to discover, and to evolve as photographers and lovers of photography. This is the world’s largest photographer-focused community. Here, together, this newly-independent communvity can shape the future of photography itself."

So far so good, but read a little more and it seems that Flickr is making fundamental changes to how its free service works, taking away the 1TB of photo storage and limiting users to just 1000 images. 

That's not all, if you don't download your images or transfer to the Pro version of the service by January 8, 2019 then Flickr will start deleting your photos, until you reach the 1000 limit - starting with the oldest images first. 

If you want to keep your photos, then a Pro account will cost you a cool $5.99 a month

Change of image

The reason for the change is, according to Flickr, to simplify the service and revert some of the change Yahoo made back in 2013, including the free 1TB of storage which caused "a tonal shift" in how the platform was used. 

"In 2013, Yahoo lost sight of what makes Flickr truly special and responded to a changing landscape in online photo sharing by giving every Flickr user a staggering terabyte of free storage," explains the post

"This, and numerous related changes to the Flickr product during that time, had strongly negative consequences."

Flickr is hoping that by reducing the number of photos in the free service it will prove that Flickr and its Pro option is worth paying for. This is going to be hard to stomach for those who have had this for free in the past. 

This is the biggest change to Flickr for years and comes after the service was bought by SmugMug.