PhotoPlus Practical Photoshop N-Photo Digital Camera World
Go Back   Digital Camera World Forum > Cameras & Equipment Forums > Canon chat

Canon chat Join our discussions on Canon SLRs, the EOS system, lenses, compacts, printers and more.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 26-08-11, 06:56 PM
DigiDiva's Avatar
DigiDiva DigiDiva is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sunderland, Tyne & Wear, England
Posts: 5,090
Images: 99
Is This Too Good To Be True?

I'm wanting to upgrade from my lowly 1000D to a 60D and found this.......

http://hdewcameras.rtrk.co.uk/?scid=..._id=8133933081

This is a lot less than the other prices on the market....is it too good to be true or should I be cautious?

Aparantly, theres a chance its a 'gray import'...what does that mean?
__________________
The best photo's are always taken by someone else

---------------------------------------------------

Chris

Last edited by DigiDiva; 26-08-11 at 07:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26-08-11, 07:01 PM
jimmyosram's Avatar
jimmyosram jimmyosram is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Shiremoor, UK
Posts: 996
Images: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiDiva View Post
I'm wanting to upgrade from my lowly 1000D to a 60D and found this.......

http://hdewcameras.rtrk.co.uk/?scid=..._id=8133933081

This is a lot less than the other prices on the market....is it too good to be true or should I be cautious?

Appears ok to me. Give them a ring and sus them out.
__________________
Regards

Paul
Fluidr
St Mary's Lighthouse
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26-08-11, 07:14 PM
DigiDiva's Avatar
DigiDiva DigiDiva is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sunderland, Tyne & Wear, England
Posts: 5,090
Images: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyosram View Post
Appears ok to me. Give them a ring and sus them out.
Do you know what a grey import is? I have read about this online store and peple say thats probably what they sell and why it's so cheap!
__________________
The best photo's are always taken by someone else

---------------------------------------------------

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26-08-11, 07:21 PM
jimmyosram's Avatar
jimmyosram jimmyosram is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Shiremoor, UK
Posts: 996
Images: 38
A grey import is possible where different countries charge different prices for a product. These prices are usually dictated by the manufacturer. So lets say this 60D has a price point of £800 in the UK and £400.00 in India, grey importers buy a load from India and sell them in the UK. It's not illegal, but it is frowned upon as usually these people avoid, in may cases, paying import taxes.

I'm not saying these guys are doing this, just answering your question about grey imports.
__________________
Regards

Paul
Fluidr
St Mary's Lighthouse
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26-08-11, 07:31 PM
silversnapper1's Avatar
silversnapper1 silversnapper1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: South East Wales and, sometimes, South West Wales
Posts: 1,658
I have seen this company mentioned on other forums and people seem to be pleased with the service that they get. If in doubt, google the name.
__________________
Steve.


Do not go gentle into that good night. Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Dylan Thomas

My Website

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26-08-11, 07:49 PM
DigiDiva's Avatar
DigiDiva DigiDiva is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sunderland, Tyne & Wear, England
Posts: 5,090
Images: 99
I wonder how a warranty would word
__________________
The best photo's are always taken by someone else

---------------------------------------------------

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27-08-11, 07:00 PM
wavemachine's Avatar
wavemachine wavemachine is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: East Devon
Posts: 2,439
Images: 18
Well it looks like they give a 3 year warranty which I suspect would be a return to base.

After much googling around it sounds like they deal pretty much in grey imports and handle the warranties themselves, I believe canons stance with a warranty claim is you must have a european warranty card and a retailer receipt for the goods. So if it is intended for Japan or China then you would not be covered by Canons warranty.

Ultimately though it is a genuine Canon just intended for a different country but chances are the manual won't be in English and if the company went bust then you would have no warranty.
__________________
Dave
_______

We are now villagers but we are not savages!

My Daughter shortly after we moved house.

366 Project and my other efforts on FLICKR
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28-08-11, 07:06 PM
DigiDiva's Avatar
DigiDiva DigiDiva is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sunderland, Tyne & Wear, England
Posts: 5,090
Images: 99
Well I can't afford it at the minute so will deliberate. Might be better to buy a European one...
__________________
The best photo's are always taken by someone else

---------------------------------------------------

Chris
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump