PhotoPlus Practical Photoshop N-Photo Digital Camera World
Go Back   Digital Camera World Forum > General Chat > Digital Camera World

Digital Camera World The place to check for announcements, feedback and your views regarding the Digital Camera World website. Come on in...

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 14-04-11, 10:00 AM
jinky jinky is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,008
Images: 1
Exclamation Personal Messages - scam?

Has anyone else receieved a PM through their Photoradar mailbox asking them to do product reviews from Dinodirect? I have and had never heard of them before so did a google on them. Got some very negative feedback on the first pages that come up It`s a guy called Campbell using a ladofy user name. Asks if interested to email back at a hotmail account. Not sure what I will do - wouldn`t mind reviewing something useful if I could keep it after and was any good but how are they getting through the PM system like this?
__________________
Paul
My Website

My Blog

My Flickr Gallery
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-04-11, 10:25 AM
nick_gray nick_gray is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Surrey, Hampshire, Berkshire border
Posts: 577
I've not received a PM.

I'm very sceptical, so I'd question why an organisation like DinoDirect would have one of their employees ask you to reply to a hotmail account, it doesn't make sense. They are also predominately US focused, so again I would question why they would want a UK based person to write a product review.

As to why this guy asked you to write a review, who knows, maybe he works for a manufacturer or manufacturers agent, and wants your honest opinion on one of his products, without him revealing the company he works for, or maybe he's just a spammer/scammer, sitting all alone in his bedroom, harvesting live email addresses to sell on.

I guess the only way to find out if it's real is to contact DinoDirect and ask them if X is working on their behalf.

Regards

Nick
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14-04-11, 12:02 PM
Amy Davies's Avatar
Amy Davies Amy Davies is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bath/Cardiff
Posts: 1,040
Images: 3
Hi jinky,

I had one of those too (!) so he's obviously not doing his research as to which member is which, it's probably just blanket targeting.

I have sent him a warning and will ban him if he doesn't respond by tomorrow first thing.

Thanks,

Amy
__________________
Amy Davies
News Reporter, Cameras@TechRadar
amy.davies@futurenet.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14-04-11, 12:11 PM
jinky jinky is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,008
Images: 1
Well done Amy - on the ball again
__________________
Paul
My Website

My Blog

My Flickr Gallery
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14-04-11, 01:10 PM
chris-p's Avatar
chris-p chris-p is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sussex
Posts: 2,455
Images: 21
Amy, can you send the mods the user ID just in case?
__________________
Chris



~ Twitter ~ Facebook ~ 500px ~
~~ Photography Tutorials ~~
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14-04-11, 02:32 PM
jinky jinky is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,008
Images: 1
He just joined this morning - doubt if he`ll log on again
__________________
Paul
My Website

My Blog

My Flickr Gallery
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14-04-11, 06:22 PM
OldBoy's Avatar
OldBoy OldBoy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,000
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amy Davies View Post
Hi jinky,

I had one of those too (!) so he's obviously not doing his research as to which member is which, it's probably just blanket targeting.


Amy
I had one too but just deleted it. Except it was a Yahoo account.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump