PhotoPlus Practical Photoshop N-Photo Digital Camera World
Go Back   Digital Camera World Forum > Cameras & Equipment Forums > Digital SLRs

Digital SLRs Want some buying or technical DSLR advice? Get it here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 23-06-10, 12:59 AM
snapcam's Avatar
snapcam snapcam is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Inquiry about a camera wholesaler

Is anyone aware of this wholesaler for Nikon in the UK: Elect Digital Technology?

Any feedback is appreciated.

Len
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23-06-10, 03:01 PM
chris-p's Avatar
chris-p chris-p is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sussex
Posts: 2,455
Images: 21
Hi Len, welcome to the forums.

Never heard of the company you mention and sticking the name into Google doesn't find them Do you have a link to their website?
__________________
Chris



~ Twitter ~ Facebook ~ 500px ~
~~ Photography Tutorials ~~
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23-06-10, 07:02 PM
snapcam's Avatar
snapcam snapcam is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
This is all I got from them
We are direct distributor and wholesaler who sells at a discounted prices at Minimum Order Quantity. and we registered Company and we are based in UK.
Here is our Contacts::
Skype::inquiry_info
ICQ:: 615710337
Yahoo MGR:: goddygordon_143
Phone No:: 07024033721

Len
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-06-10, 07:14 PM
chris-p's Avatar
chris-p chris-p is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sussex
Posts: 2,455
Images: 21
I'd steer well clear.

The fact that their main contact details are Skype, instant messenger services and a mobile phone number are dead giveaways.

Also, if you google the phone number you get several classified adverts, under different company names, selling cameras, mobile phones etc.
__________________
Chris



~ Twitter ~ Facebook ~ 500px ~
~~ Photography Tutorials ~~
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-06-10, 10:04 PM
snapcam's Avatar
snapcam snapcam is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks Chris.I thought it looked suspicious but it is nice to see someone else sees it too.

Len
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23-06-10, 10:07 PM
snapcam's Avatar
snapcam snapcam is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
What about this website>

http://www.thedigitalcamerasshopltd.cc.cc

Len
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23-06-10, 10:58 PM
ianpinion ianpinion is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lincolnshire
Posts: 975
Images: 7
Hi Len,

I've no personal experience of dealing with this firm, but the address given seems to be located within the Newlands Shopping Centre in Kettering. However, there is no such street as Newlands Street in Kettering, so unless you can physically find the shop in the shopping centre, I would steer clear!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24-06-10, 12:21 AM
matt wilson matt wilson is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 593
http://www.bview.co.uk/listing/14478...op-Ltd-in-NN16

not good it looks as though they exist but service poor .

ok you may pay more but go to somewhere where you know you have some comeback.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24-06-10, 06:50 AM
chris-p's Avatar
chris-p chris-p is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sussex
Posts: 2,455
Images: 21
Has Matt has said, I'd avoid them. It's only one step up from Elect. Main contact number is a mobile and thats a big big giveaway.

A landline phone has to be registered somewhere for it to actually exist but a pay as you squawk sim card and an old phone handset is nigh on untraceable...
__________________
Chris



~ Twitter ~ Facebook ~ 500px ~
~~ Photography Tutorials ~~
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24-06-10, 12:11 PM
ap4a's Avatar
ap4a ap4a is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 702
The first one claims to be a limited company but doesn't include the company number in communications which it should if it is, but a quick check on Companies House shows that it isn't: result.

The second one has a bad website that doesn't inspire much confidence in them, and they also don't appear to list their company number which they should do. It's also only been online according to the creation date on the contact page for 1 month, again that doesn't inspire much confidence:

Quote:
Information
Name : Digital Cameras
Company : THE DIGITAL CAMERA SHOP LIMITED

Updated Date : 25-May-2010
Creation Date : 25-May-2010
A quick review of the Whois for the site shows that their domain is actually a subdomain supplied by a different service. Again, that doesn't inspire much confidence.

In their favour though is that they do appear to be a limited company registered at Companies House: result - assuming that their website is the real one and not a clone or someone passing themselves off as that company.

Their address is also recognised by Google maps as a search on their address (minus the county and post code) places a check mark by Newlands shopping centre and the returned full address includes the same county and post code details as supplied on their site.

However, all in all I wouldn't trust the first 'company' as far as I can throw a bag of bricks, and the second one, despite being registered, doesn't inspire much confidence and I'd give them a wide berth too.
__________________
500px | last.fm | twitter | G+

Last edited by ap4a; 24-06-10 at 02:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump