PhotoPlus Practical Photoshop N-Photo Digital Camera World
Go Back   Digital Camera World Forum > General Chat > Digital Camera World

Digital Camera World The place to check for announcements, feedback and your views regarding the Digital Camera World website. Come on in...

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-03-10, 09:05 AM
PolaroidSky's Avatar
PolaroidSky PolaroidSky is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: East Anglia UK
Posts: 308
Unhappy Ad companies hotlinking key words in photo text

I've noticed ad companies hotlinking words pertinent to brand names within the text accompanying my photographs and hotlinking to sell items and I have to say I'm more than disgusted by this... any explanation as to how/why this is allowed?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-03-10, 09:42 AM
Marcus Hawkins Marcus Hawkins is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 95
Can you send me links to where this is happening?

Thanks

Marcus
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-03-10, 09:50 AM
PolaroidSky's Avatar
PolaroidSky PolaroidSky is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: East Anglia UK
Posts: 308
http://www.photoradar.com/photos/264...ts-and-minds-0

The word creative is linked to a site selling webcams... (I am in Rome as I typr though I doubt that has anything to do with it Marcus)n I will have a search through my shots to see if I can find any more examples...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-03-10, 10:09 AM
ap4a's Avatar
ap4a ap4a is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 702
I don't see it.


Are you using your own computer or someone else's? (Internet cafe etc)

If you're on your own I would run something like Spybit S&D to rule out malware being on your computer: http://www.safer-networking.org/en/download/index.html
__________________
500px | last.fm | twitter | G+
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-03-10, 10:24 AM
PolaroidSky's Avatar
PolaroidSky PolaroidSky is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: East Anglia UK
Posts: 308
Not using my own, my partners... I will check with Spybot... glad you are not seeing it... thanks for the info : )
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-03-10, 10:56 AM
PolaroidSky's Avatar
PolaroidSky PolaroidSky is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: East Anglia UK
Posts: 308
I ran Spybot... hotlink still there... : S Oh well, as long as the whole world does not see these ads... not a fan of being an involuntary cog in the capatalistic wheel!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump