PhotoPlus Practical Photoshop N-Photo Digital Camera World
Go Back   Digital Camera World Forum > Magazine Forums > PhotoPlus Magazine

PhotoPlus Magazine Exclusive forum for the magazine dedicated to the Canon EOS system

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-03-13, 03:34 PM
Ezz H Ezz H is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Spencer Mann

Has anybody purchased anything from spencermann.com ?
I have been looking at their website and some of the prices seem too good to be true.
Canon 7D £835 with full UK warranty for instance, and that's without the current cashback deal.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-03-13, 06:35 PM
Ezz H Ezz H is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
I'm looking to buy Canon EF zoom lens - 70 mm - 300 mm - F/4.0-5.6 - L - IS £889 but the low price has me wondering if they are a reputable company, this lens is over £1000 everywhere else.
As I said on my previous post advertised with Canon UK warranty.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-03-13, 08:14 PM
nick_gray nick_gray is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Surrey, Hampshire, Berkshire border
Posts: 576
I've not heard of, nor used this company, so can't comment directly about them.

However, some companies are able to offer cheaper prices on cameras and lenses, because they are grey imports (they have been brought in from other markets of the World, for example Hong Kong, where retail prices are lower or exchange rates favourable against the pound). I've also heard that some importers under declare the value of the goods when they import the goods, thus paying less VAT and duty to HMRC.

As I understand it, Canon will not offer UK warranty on camera bodies that are purchased outside of the UK. A few of the grey import companies that I've heard of, offer their own UK warranty. Canon however do offer a worldwide warranty on their lenses.

Nick
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-03-13, 08:36 PM
nick_gray nick_gray is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Surrey, Hampshire, Berkshire border
Posts: 576
On further searching, have a look at http://www.talkphotography.co.uk/for....php?p=5101334 and http://www.hotukdeals.com/misc/is-th...-legit-1245672
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-03-13, 11:15 AM
Ezz H Ezz H is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick_gray View Post
I've not heard of, nor used this company, so can't comment directly about them.

However, some companies are able to offer cheaper prices on cameras and lenses, because they are grey imports (they have been brought in from other markets of the World, for example Hong Kong, where retail prices are lower or exchange rates favourable against the pound). I've also heard that some importers under declare the value of the goods when they import the goods, thus paying less VAT and duty to HMRC.

As I understand it, Canon will not offer UK warranty on camera bodies that are purchased outside of the UK. A few of the grey import companies that I've heard of, offer their own UK warranty. Canon however do offer a worldwide warranty on their lenses.

Nick
They are both claimed to have Canon UK warranty, still can't make my mind up, I might try to contact Canon UK.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-03-13, 09:49 AM
Ezz H Ezz H is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick_gray View Post
Thanks for that Nick. looks like it's going to be Wex.
Sorry I took so long to reply, I've only just seen your post.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13-03-13, 02:16 PM
Ezz H Ezz H is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
I forgot to mention, I came across them on Play,com, I don't think they are as reliable as they used to be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump